This is a courtesy translation. The German version is binding.

General terms and conditions

By personal, written or telephone participation in an auction held by Auktionshaus Bloss, the following terms and conditions are accepted:

1.) The auction is held voluntarily in the name and for the account of the consignors. This does not hold for the auctioneer´s own stock. Each consignor is assigned a number from which can be deduced which objects have been deposited by which consignor. Own stock is marked with the number 999; it is auctioned in the name and for the account of the auctioneer. The auctioneer reserves the right to combine or separate lot numbers, call them out of sequence or withdraw them.

2.) The catalogue descriptions are made to the best of the author´s knowledge and belief but are not part of the contractually agreed properties and conditions of the items. The descriptions are based largely on information given by the consignor. Descriptions of condition are meant as indication for damages which are optically serious in the author´s opinion. Defects, faults etc. are accounted for in the limit prices. The items are auctioned in the condition in which they are in the moment of knockdown. If an impairment of the item´s preservation is not stated, it does not mean that the item is in faultless condition or free of defects or faults. During the preview there is sufficient time and opportunity to view and inspect the items. A client´s defence not to have visited the preview does not entitle him to later complaints. The auctioneer assumes no liability for catalogue descriptions, age, provenance, size, weight, signatures, marks, material and damages; in particular, this information does not constitute a guarantee in the legal sense of the term. However, the auctioneer agrees to communicate duly stated defects to the consignor within the defects liability period if possible. In special cases, e.g. a suspected counterfeit, the auctioneer agrees to pursue the buyer´s claims against the consignor if possible, but only if the buyer presents the expertise (made at his own expense) of a recognized expert within four weeks after the auction.

3.) Books, journals, documents and the like are not collated.

4.) Signatures, marks and the like are read off but not checked; error reserved. Attributions and references are expressions of opinion and no guaranteed qualities. In any case, we recommend that you check yourself and avail yourself of the opportunity of previewing. Damages on frames are mostly not mentioned. Dimensions are rounded. On images of paintings or prints, the frame may not be pictured or the frame width may be cut in favor of the image size. Images are exclusively for the purpose of additional information; error reserved. In case of inconsistency between image and text, the text is authoritative. If an article description exists in more than one language, the german description is authoritative.

5.) Complaints of any kind whatsoever cannot be considered after the auction. Defects liability is excluded.

6.) During preview and auction maximal caution is recommended since every visitor will be held responsible for any damage caused by him.

7.) Initially, each object is called with the limit price mentioned in the catalogue (unlimited objects will initially called with € 10,-), unless there is more than one higher absentee bid. Up to € 50,-, the bid increment is € 5,-, over € 50,- approx. 10%. The knockdown shall follow after the highest bid has been called three times if the limit price has been reached. The auctioneer can reject bids. If a bid is rejected, the bid made immediately prior to it shall remain binding. If several bidders make the same bid, the matter will be decided by drawing lots. A disagreement about the last bid or a knockdown may be solved by auctioning the item again. This applies also if a bid has been overlooked. A telephone bidder automatically bids the limit price, even if the telephone connection cannot be established when the item is called. If the highest bidder does not want to accept his bid, the auctioneer can knockdown the item to him nevertheless or auction the item again. The knockdown pledges to purchase and payment. With the knockdown the risk of loss, damage, mix-up etc. passes to the buyer.

8.) Bids with awards subject to reservation are binding on the bidder for three weeks. Notwithstanding, in the event of a subsequent bid equivalent to the limit, the lot number may be knocked down to another bidder with no further consultation being required. Every knockdown in the auction with a hammer price less than the limit price is a knockdown subject to reservation, even if this is not expressly announced.

9.) Every bidder buys in his own name and for his own account. If a bidder buys by order of a third party, he is personally liable for purchase and payment even if the invoice is issued to his contractor. The full purchase price is due immediately after knockdown and must be paid in cash to Auktionshaus Bloss on the day of the auction. In the case of buyers who have submitted written, telephonic or internet offers, the amount due is payable within ten days after the invoice date. In the event of payment delay, the buyer must pay default interest following §288 BGB; the auctioneer reserves the right to lodge further claims for damages. The purchased items will be handed over only if all outstanding accounts have been settled in full. The time of payment receipt is the date of receipt on Auktionshaus Bloss´s account statement resp. the credit date of the cheque.

10.) If the buyer wishes to have the purchased items shipped after payment, the shipping condition stated in par. 17 apply. In the case that items are not paid and collected within ten days after the invoice date, the auctioneer reserves the right to store the items with third parties at the cost and risk of the buyer or to charge € 1,- up to € 3,- for storage per day and item.

11.) The hammer price is a net price. A buyer´s premium of 19% of the hammer price will be charged; value-added tax is payable on the buyer´s premium.

12.) The knockdown pledges to purchase and payment of the full price to the auction house. With the knockdown, possession and risk pass to the buyer; ownership passes to the buyer immediately after full payment.

13.) If the buyer falls behind with purchase or payment, the auctioneer has the right to sue for performance, claim for damages due to non-performance or withdraw from the contract of sale. In the case of claim for damages, the auctioneer can claim 30% of the sum of hammer prices as a flat-rate damage without further proof, notwithstanding the possibility to prove that a higher damage has been caused. Apart from his own claims, the auctioneer has the right to enforce all the consignor´s claims to the buyer judicially and extrajudicially. The auctioneer can pass from the claim for performance to the claim for damages at any time.

14.) If Auktionshaus Bloss auctions objects of the Third Reich, it does so exclusively for purposes of civic elucidation, defence against unconstitutional attempts, art or science, research or education, coverage of events of the day or history, or for similar purposes.

15.) The auctioneer can exclude any person from an auction if there is a valid reason, especially somebody who disturbs the auction or preview or who is delayed in payment or purchase.

16.) Trading and exchange in the auction house is prohibited to all unauthorized persons. Offenders will be claimed for damages and banned from the auction house.

17.) If absentee or telephonic bidders would like to have the bought items shipped, we ask for a written order. The items will be shipped exclusively and in every respect at the risk of the buyer. Shipping costs are calculated according to weight, time and effort. Every parcel shipped inside Germany is insured up to € 500,-; for this reason we ship even very small objects in a parcel. If the buyer would like to have a parcel insured with a higher sum (which will be done at his expense), he has to inform the auctioneer beforehand in writing about this. Items are only shipped in a parcel up to a parcel size of 60x50x100cm. Paintings, glazed prints, voluminous and breakable groups of objects, easily breakable items such as services etc. will be shipped for the buyer´s account via forwarding agency only.

18.) These terms and conditions apply accordingly to the freehand sale, too.

19.) The place of fulfilment is Merzhausen, the legal venue is Freiburg. German laws shall apply exclusively.

20.) If one or more provisions of these Terms and Conditions are wholly or partially invalid, the validity of the other provisions will remain in full force and effect.

Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen

Mit der persönlichen, schriftlichen oder telefonischen Teilnahme an einer Auktion werden folgende Bedingungen anerkannt:

1.) Die Versteigerung erfolgt freiwillig und in fremdem Namen und für fremde Rechnung. Dies gilt nicht für Eigenware. Jeder Auftraggeber bekommt eine Nummer, aus der zu erkennen ist, welche Gegenstände von welchem Auftraggeber eingeliefert wurden. Eigenware ist mit der Nummer 999 gekennzeichnet; sie wird auf eigene Rechnung und im eigenen Namen veräußert. Der Versteigerer behält sich das Recht vor, Nummern des Katalogs zu vereinen, zu trennen, außerhalb der Reihenfolge anzubieten oder zurückzuziehen.

2.) Die Katalogbeschreibungen werden nach bestem Wissen und Gewissen vorgenommen, sind jedoch keine zugesicherten Eigenschaften im Rechtssinne. Sie beruhen zum größten Teil auf Angaben der Einlieferer. Zustandsbeschreibungen im Katalog sind nur als Anhaltspunkte für unserer Meinung nach optisch gravierende Beschädigungen gedacht. Defekte, Fehler, Klebe- und Fehlstellen etc. sind bei den Limitpreisen berücksichtigt. Die Gegenstände werden in dem Zustand versteigert, in dem sie sich im Moment des Zuschlags befinden. Das Fehlen eines Hinweises besagt nicht, dass der Gegenstand sich in einwandfreiem Zustand befindet oder frei von Fehlern bzw. Mängeln ist. Während der Vorbesichtigung besteht ausreichend Zeit und Gelegenheit, die Gegenstände zu prüfen und sich von deren Zustand zu überzeugen. Die Einlassung des Kunden, die Vorbesichtigung nicht wahrgenommen zu haben, berechtigt nicht zu evtl. anschließenden Reklamationen. Der Versteigerer übernimmt für die Katalogangaben, Alter, Herkunft, Größe, Gewicht, Signaturen, Marken und Material sowie Beschädigungen keine Gewähr und Haftung, erklärt sich jedoch bereit, rechtzeitig vorgetragene Mängel innerhalb der gesetzlichen Gewährleistungspflicht nach Möglichkeit dem Einlieferer zu übermitteln und in einzelnen Fällen, z.B. beim Verdacht einer Fälschung, die Interessen des Ersteigerers beim Einlieferer geltend zu machen. Voraussetzung ist jedoch die Beibringung einer Expertise (auf Kosten des Reklamierenden) eines anerkannten Sachverständigen spätestens vier Wochen nach der Auktion.

3.) Bücher Zeitschriften, Akten u.ä. sind nicht kollationiert.

4.) Signaturen, Marken u.ä. sind abgelesen, aber nicht geprüft; Irrtum vorbehalten. Zuordnungen sowie Literaturhinweise sind Meinungsäußerungen und keine zugesicherten Eigenschaften. Wir bitten in jedem Fall, selbst zu prüfen und die Gelegenheit der Vorbesichtigung wahrzunehmen. Defekte an Rahmen sind meist nicht erwähnt. Maßangaben sind gerundet. Auf Abbildungen der Gemälde und Graphiken ist mitunter die Rahmenbreite zugunsten der Bildgröße beschnitten bzw. nur der Bildausschnitt abgebildet. Die Abbildungen dienen generell der Zusatzinformation - Irrtum vorbehalten. Bei Unstimmigkeiten zwischen Abbildungen und Text ist der Text verbindlich. Liegt eine Artikelbeschreibung in mehreren Sprachen vor, so ist die deutsche Beschreibung verbindlich.

5.) Reklamationen, gleich welcher Art, können nach der Auktion nicht berücksichtigt werden. Die Gewährleistung ist ausgeschlossen.

6.) Bei der Besichtigung und während der Versteigerung ist größte Vorsicht zu empfehlen, da jeder Besucher für den von ihm verursachten Schaden in vollem Umfang einstehen muss.

7.) Der Aufruf beginnt zu dem im Katalog ausgedruckten Limitpreis. Gegenstände ohne Limit werden mit EUR 10,- aufgerufen, falls nicht mehrere höhere schriftliche Gebote vorliegen. Gesteigert wird bis EUR 50,- um EUR 5,-, über EUR 50,- um ca. 10%. Der Zuschlag wird erteilt, wenn nach dreimaligem Wiederholen des höchsten Gebotes kein Übergebot abgegeben wird und der vom Auftraggeber vorgeschriebene Limitpreis erreicht ist. Der Versteigerer kann ein Gebot ablehnen. In diesem Fall bleibt das unmittelbar vorher abgegebene Gebot verbindlich. Geben mehrere Bieter gleichzeitig ein Gebot in gleicher Höhe ab, entscheidet das Los. Uneinigkeiten über das letzte Gebot oder einen Zuschlag können durch nochmaligen Aufruf der Sache behoben werden. Dies gilt auch dann, wenn ein rechtzeitig abgegebenes Gebot übersehen worden ist. Ein Telefonbieter ist automatisch Bieter des Limits, auch dann, wenn er beim Aufruf des Gegenstandes telefonisch nicht erreichbar ist. Wenn ein Höchstbietender sein Gebot nicht gelten lassen will, kann der Versteigerer diesem trotzdem den Zuschlag erteilen oder den Gegenstand neu aufrufen. Der Zuschlag verpflichtet zur Abnahme und Zahlung. Mit ihm geht die Gefahr für etwaige Verluste, Beschädigungen, Verwechslungen etc. auf den Käufer über.

8.) Erfolgt der Zuschlag unter Vorbehalt, so ist der Bieter drei Wochen an sein Gebot gebunden. Die Katalognummer kann jedoch jederzeit ohne Rückfrage an einen Limitbieter abgegeben werden. Jeder Zuschlag in der Auktion unter dem Limit ist automatisch ein Vorbehaltszuschlag, auch wenn dies nicht in jedem Fall einzeln angesagt wird.

9.) Jeder Bieter kauft in eigenem Namen und auf eigene Rechnung. Steigert ein Bieter im Auftrag Dritter, so haftet er persönlich für Abnahme und Zahlung, auch wenn die Rechnung auf seinen Auftraggeber ausgestellt ist. Der gesamte vom Käufer zu entrichtende Betrag ist sofort fällig und bar am Tage der Auktion beim Auktionshaus Bloss einzuzahlen. Beim Erwerb durch schriftlich, telefonisch oder per Internet erteilten Auftrag ist die Zahlung innerhalb von zehn Tagen nach Rechnungsdatum zu leisten. Bei Nichteinhalten der Zahlungsfrist werden Verzugszinsen nach §288 BGB berechnet; die Geltendmachung eines weiteren Schadens bleibt vorbehalten. Eine Aushändigung der Ware erfolgt jedoch erst nach vollständiger Bezahlung von Ware und Verzugszinsen. Zeitpunkt des Zahlungseingangs ist das Eingangsdatum auf dem Kontoauszug des Auktionshauses Bloss bzw. Bankgutschrift des Schecks.

10.) Bei Versandwunsch nach erfolgter Bezahlung gelten die in Absatz 17 angegebenen Versandbedingungen. Der Versteigerer ist berechtigt, Ware, die nicht innerhalb von zehn Tagen nach Rechnungsstellung bezahlt und abgeholt wird, auf Kosten des Käufers einlagern zu lassen bzw. Lagergebühren von EUR 1,- bis EUR 3,- pro Tag und Gegenstand zu erheben.

11.) Das zugeschlagene Gebot ist der Nettopreis. Auf diesen Zuschlag wird ein Aufgeld in Höhe von 19% zzgl. der zum Zeitpunkt des Zuschlags gültigen gesetzlichen Mehrwertsteuer erhoben.

12.) Der Zuschlag verpflichtet zur Abnahme und Zahlung des Gesamtpreises an das Auktionshaus. Mit der Erteilung des Zuschlages gehen Besitz und Gefahr unmittelbar auf den Käufer über, das Eigentum jedoch erst nach vollständiger Bezahlung.

13.) Bleibt der Käufer mit der Abnahme der ersteigerten Gegenstände oder der Zahlung im Rückstand, so ist das Auktionshaus berechtigt, auf Abnahme oder auf Schadenersatz wegen Nichterfüllung zu klagen oder vom Kaufvertrag zurückzutreten. Will das Auktionshaus Schadenersatz, so kann unbeschadet der Möglichkeit, einen höheren tatsächlichen Schaden geltend zu machen, 30% der Zuschlagssumme als pauschalierte Entschädigung ohne Nachweis gefordert werden. Das Auktionshaus ist berechtigt, neben eigenen auch alle Ansprüche des Einlieferers gegen den Erwerber gerichtlich und außergerichtlich geltend zu machen. Das Auktionshaus kann jederzeit vom Erfüllungs- zum Schadenersatzanspruch übergehen.

14.) Sofern das Auktionshaus Bloss Objekte des Dritten Reiches versteigert, erfolgt dies allein zu Zwecken der staatsbürgerlichen Aufklärung, der Abwehr verfassungswidriger Bestrebungen, der Kunst oder Wissenschaft, der Forschung oder Lehre, der Berichterstattung über Vorgänge des Zeitgeschehens oder der Geschichte oder zu ähnlichen Zwecken.

15.) Der Versteigerer kann aus besonderen Gründen Personen von der Auktion ausschließen, insbesondere solche, welche die Versteigerung bzw. Besichtigung stören oder sich im Zahlungs- bzw. Abholungsverzug befinden.

16.) Der Handel und Tausch ist unberechtigten Personen im Auktionshaus untersagt. Bei Zuwiderhandlung wird Schadenersatz geltend gemacht und Hausverbot erteilt.

17.) Falls schriftliche oder telefonische Bieter die ihnen zugeschlagenen Gegenstände zugeschickt haben wollen, bitten wir um schriftlichen Auftrag. Der Versand erfolgt ausschließlich und in jeder Hinsicht auf Risiko des Ersteigerers. Wir bitten dies zu beachten und zu berücksichtigen. Pro Paket werden Versandkosten je nach Gewicht und Verpackungsaufwand berechnet. Jedes Paket, das innerhalb Deutschlands verschickt wird, ist automatisch bis EUR 500,- versichert. Aus diesem Grund versenden wir auch kleinste Objekte nur als Paket. Falls der Käufer auf seine Kosten eine höhere Versicherungssumme wünscht, so ist dies dem Versteigerer rechtzeitig schriftlich mitzuteilen. Postversand erfolgt generell nur bis zur Verpackungsgröße 60x50x100cm. Gemälde, verglaste Graphik, größere, zerbrechliche Konvolute, leicht zerbrechliche Dinge wie Service etc. werden nur per Spedition auf Kosten des Käufers versandt.

18.) Die Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen gelten entsprechend auch für den freihändigen Verkauf.

19.) Erfüllungsort ist Merzhausen, Gerichtsstand ist Freiburg im Breisgau. Die Rechtsbeziehung richtet sich nach deutschem Recht.

20.) Sollte eine der vorstehenden Bestimmungen ganz oder teilweise ungültig sein, so bleibt die Gültigkeit der übrigen davon unberührt.